In our blog post last week, we discussed the current controversy surrounding Measure 91. If you remember, we discussed how lawmakers are trying to alter some points of the measure, which has some supporters upset and threatening to take legal action. Some of our Oregon readers might not be all that familiar with the measure, so we are going to take this opportunity to discuss some of the main points.
Measure 91 is the Control, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act. It takes away the penalties for people who are 21 years old and older who want to use, grow, and possess marijuana in limited amounts. It gives the Oregon Liquor Control Commission the right to regulate, establish and license businesses involved in the marijuana business.
Under Measure 91, a person who meets the age requirement can have up to four marijuana plants and up to 8 ounces of marijuana. Those limits are based on a per-household basis, not a personal basis, so a home with 2 adults can have the same amount of marijuana and the same number of plants as a household with one person.
The law also limits the amount of marijuana a person can have on them in public to one ounce. It also sets limits on the amount of marijuana a person can gift to another person. Measure 91 goes into effect on July 1, 2015 for individuals. On Jan. 4, 2016, businesses can submit applications for marijuana businesses.
The bill also sets taxes on the marijuana that is sold at wholesale in the state. Immature plants have a $5 tax, leaves have a $10 per ounce tax and flowers have a $35 per ounce tax. These taxes go to support schools, the state police, cities, counties, the health authority and a certain drug and alcohol programs.
Source: Marijuana Policy Project, "Measure 91 Summary" accessed Feb. 20, 2015